Evidence Page for CO395JOUR

Evidence Page for CO395JOUR

1. Attending class.

I attended every class meeting there was.

2. Observing the Huntingtonian.

I am the On-Campus editor for the Huntingtonian, so I was present for all of the design weekends. I learned many useful skills throughout this semester. I learned how to use WordPress more efficiently than I had previously known, by having to schedule and draft various posts at the same time. I also learned how to use Adobe Photoshop to convert pictures to the proper CMYK format. Along with Photoshop, I had to learn to use Adobe Indesign so I could design my page of the newspaper. I learned how to create text boxes, insert pictures with photo captions, and format all of it to look presentable for the newspaper. I learned to pay extremely close attention to details since everything had to line up and be in perfect format before it would cleared past all the editors. Through this process I became extremely comfortable using the Indesign and have found it has helped me in other areas of my academic work.

3. Skimming the New York Times.

On September 13 I set my home page to the New York Times, and I kept it there the entire semester. I definitely skimmed over it at least ten times during the semester, mostly every time I got on the internet some article would catch my eye. Per week I would say I skimmed it at least 3 times.

One article I remember reading was about a Honduran man living in the states who was deported. The police found him after he had lived there for 15 years by pulling him over for a burnt-out taillight. His girlfriend was watching him get arrested. He was sent to various prisons while they figured out what to do with him. The asylum officer and the judge asked him questions to see if he had viable reasons for wanting to stay in the states and whether or not it would risk his life to go back. The city that he comes from has a ridiculously high death rate due to gang violence, which he was being pressured to join while living there. His uncle was killed by the gang. His other uncle who had lived in the states found him a way in and got him a job making windows. The officer and judge sent him back to Honduras, and the article highlighted how many South Americans we deport out of our country every year, most without any kind of criminal record.

I also remember an article I read about a Michigan woman who shot at some shoplifters at a Home Depot in Auburn Hills, MI. She was outside of Home Depot when the shoplifters came running out, so she pulled out her gun, which she had a license for and a right to carry, and she shot at them. She missed but ended up flattening one of the tires on the car. The men were later arrested. She was also taken to court and charged with 18-months probation and revoked carrying license until at least 2023. Afterwards she swore never to help anyone ever again, seeing as it got her in trouble as well.

4. Reading through an entire magazine.

I finished reading through Bloomberg Businessweek magazine in it’s entirety — including all articles, advertisements, fine print, front to back — by November 2.

1435786206

I loved the different design types they used in this magazine. Being a part of the Huntingtonian this year, I know how difficult it is to get those photos and text to line up in perfect format, and so I found the magazine’s dedication to eye-catching graphics and text layout impressive. They included many infographics with articles to increase engagement, since the stories with those I was instantly more drawn to. For example, in the article “The Great Plains’ Looming Water Crisis” they inserted a infographic that used different colors in location to show what water was already depleted, what would be depleted by 2050, and what would be depleted by 2150.

My favorite articles in this issue were “The Policeman’s ID” and “Wrecking Ball.” The first was highlighting cops and what a training course for a police officer would look like. It was an interesting read considering all the turmoil that is surrounding cops at the moment. I also enjoyed the second because it highlighted how a movie crew garnered support for the movie by all going out and doing a comedy tour together

5. Creating grids for story types and medium types.

AUDIO

SLIDE/PHOTO STORY

TEXT

VIDEO

 LINK: Hopping couches to the Huntington stage (2015)

PDF: Hopping Couches to the Huntington Stage (2015)

LINK: Left or right? (2015)

PDF: Left or right (2015)

LINK: Trapped in Becker (2015)

PDF:  Trapped in Becker (2015)

 LINK: Nursing program awaits accreditation (2015)PDF: Nursing program awaits accreditation (2015)
 LINK: Updated facilities master plan approved (2015)PDF: Updated facilities master plan approved (2015)
 Story Type

FEATURE

HARD NEWS

REVIEW/OPINION

INVESTIGATIVE

EXPLANATORY

LINK: Left or right? (2015)

PDF: Left or right (2015)

LINK: Nursing program awaits accreditation (2015)

PDF: Nursing program awaits accreditation (2015)

LINK: Trapped in Becker (2015)

PDF: Trapped in Becker (2015)

 LINK: Updated facilities master plan approved(2015)PDF: Updated facilities master plan approved (2015)
 LINK: Hopping couches to the Huntington stage(2015)PDF: Hopping Couches to the Huntington Stage (2015)

6. Getting a story plan approved.

My story plan was approved on Oct. 12 by the class.

8. Submitting a reviewed story. 

My reviewed story was approved by the class on Oct. 12 and submitted to the editors of the Huntingtonian, which it was then published on October 29, 2015 (Left or right?). Both of my presentations to the class were on time with all the photos and infographics required. The story includes two photos, one taken with a DSLR camera and another a screenshot off my phone, both with the required captions. The story also contained an infographic created on Microsoft Excel.

Here is the text of an email I submitted to the Huntingtonian editors:

Huntingtonian editors:

I’m submitting a text story I wrote about how many students at HU are currently on a dating app called Tinder and highlighting different experiences they’ve had. The story loos at differing opinions of the app and it’s effects, both negative and positive.

WEB BLURB: Left, left, left, right, match! Angelica Thompson swiped right to make a match on Tinder. On vacation, she decided to go out on a whim and casually meet the guy. She did not know what he had in mind.

1. Written Script with the file name BortonTinderStoryOctober11.2015
2. Photo I took with the file name BortonTinderStoryAOctober11.2015
3. Photo taken with the file name BortonTinderStoryBOctober11.2015
4. Graphic I created with the final name BortonTinderStoryGraphicOctober11.2015

The caption for the photo of Jess Meyers and Josh White is:

SWIPING THROUGH: While scrolling through Tinder, Josh White and Jess Meyers share a laugh at some of the more ridiculous Tinder bios. (Photo by Courtney Borton)

The caption for the screenshot is:

TINDER SKEPTIC: Josh White is very doubtful of Tinder finding him someone worth dating. (Photo Provided)

The graphic stands alone and did not require a caption.

Please let me know if there are any changes that need to be made.

Thanks,
Courtney Borton

7. Submitting a non-reviewed story.

Text of email message submitted to the Huntingtonian editors-

Huntingtonian editors:

I have attached the news story that I signed up for as part of the fourth issue. It discusses the upcoming accreditation and the review process of the nursing department.

Thanks,

Courtney Borton

Link to published text story: Nursing program awaits accreditation